United Nations Welcome to the United Nations. It's your world.
  • العربية
  • 简体中文
  • English
  • Français
  • Русский
  • Español


Re-Opening of on arrival ETA Counter at the Bandaranaike International Airport and Mattala International Airport

The Department of Immigration and Emigration has been commenced issuing ETA at arrival by reopening the on-arrival ETA counter at the Airport for limited of bona-fide fully vaccinated tourists.

Issuing on-arrival ETA will be facilitated only for tourists who are unable to obtain ETA online method due to time constraints experience when arranging their journey to Sri Lanka within a very shorter period.  Further, this facility will be provided considering as an essential service requirement by adhering to all Covid-19 preventive measures declared by the Government of Sri Lanka.



Please be aware that there are unofficial websites soliciting visa seekers to apply for Sri Lankan visa through their online portals charging exorbitant amounts as visa/service fee.

Please note the following:

The issuing authority of the Sri Lankan ETA visa is the Department of Immigration & Emigration in Sri Lanka and the link for its website is www.immigration.gov.lk

Travellers are strongly advised to use only the official Government of Sri Lanka ETA website www.eta.gov.lk/slvisa and to be cautious of the following unofficial websites that appear legitimate.

x https://www.eta.org.lk

x hhttps://www.srilankavisa.org.lk

x hhttps://www.e-visa.lk

x hhttps://www.srilankavisa.lk

x hhttps://www.go-sri-lanka.com

x hhttps://www.srilanka-visaonline.com

x hhttps://www.srilankaetavisa.com

x hhttps://www.srilanka-etaonline.com

x hhttps://www.visa-srilanka.net

x hhttps://www.srilankavisa.net

x hhttps://www.srilankanetavisa.net

x hhttps://www.ivisa.com/visa/sri-lanka

x hhttps://www.srilankavisa.org/se

x hhttps://www.ivisa.com/sri-lanka-visa

x hhttps://www.srilankavisa.org


Implementing free visa scheme for designated countries

Foreign nationals who hold the passport of list countries and travel to Sri Lankan for tourist purposes are exempted paying ETA fee till 30th April 2020. The list of countries are as follows;
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Cambodia
  • Canda
  • China
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Israel
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Malaysia
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • New Zealand
  • Philippines
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Russia
  • Singapore
  • Slovak Republic
  • Slovenia
  • South Korea
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Thailand
  • Ukraine
  • United Kingdom
  • United States of America

However, any foreign national who will be visiting Sri Lanka for a short period is required to apply ETA and ensure pre-approval before the journey to avoid unnecessary delays at the port of entry and to adhere with enhanced pre-clearance.



With effect from 1st January 2012, all Holiday or Business travelers to Sri Lanka must have a valid Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA) to enter into Sri Lanka. Please visit www.eta.gov.lk/slvisa for more information.

The ETA requirement is applicable to all nationalities except nationals of the Republic of Maldives, the Republic of Singapore and the Republic of Seychelles, who on the basis of reciprocity, are exempt from this requirement.

The objective of the Sri Lankan visa is to facilitate the legal entry of non-Sri Lankans into Sri Lanka and to regulate the period and conditions governing their stay.

The competent authority for issuing Sri Lankan visas is the Department of Immigration and Emigration. On behalf of the Department of Immigration and Emigration, Sri Lanka diplomatic missions abroad have been authorized to issue visas.


Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA)

All applicants, except children below 12 years of age, must pay the ETA processing fee online. (However, ETA should obtain also for children below 12 years of age.) The online payment must be paid with a valid debit or credit card.

Applicants who have obtained the visa through ETA website are advised to keep a copy of the ETA approval notice with the passport to be produced at the port of entry in Sri Lanka.

Applicants are strictly advised to use the official Sri Lankan ETA website on applying the ETA and to avoid facing frauds involve with payments made online. This Mission or Department of Immigration & Emigration in Sri Lanka is not responsible for any incidents involved with any third party ETA websites or ETA agents. Payments made in this circumstance are not refundable anyway and you must pay again at the port of entry in Sri Lanka for ETAs applied through other than official ETA website.

For last-minute travelers who need to visit Sri Lanka on tourist/transit purposes without prior ETA approval, a limited facility to obtain ETA is available at the Bandaranaike International Airport in Colombo, Sri Lanka. An additional fee of USD 5.00 will apply.

The ETA requirement is applicable to all nationalities except nationals of the Republic of Maldives, the Republic of Singapore and the Republic of Seychelles, who on the basis of reciprocity, are exempt from this requirement.
When applying ETA by third parties payments are to be made through the arrangement made in our website www.eta.gov.lk/slvisa and obtain the acknowledgment of ETA application.  Any payments made to other websites or agencies are not valid to process a valid ETA.  Therefore, always ensure that the payments made by accessing to Sri Lanka ETA website and avoid making repayment at the port of entry to Sri Lanka.


Eligible parties for visa exemptions
  • Sri Lankan Dual Citizens (Must provide Original Dual Citizenship certificate at the arrival)

  • Children born to Sri Lankan parents in overseas and whose birth have been registered under section 5(2) of Citizenship Act – 1948 in Sri Lanka, up to 21 years of age

  • Children born in Sri Lanka to Sri Lankan parents under 21 years of age, now living abroad.



Tourist Visa

Business Visa

Transit Visa

Diplomatic & Official Visa

Journalist Visa

Residence Visa