United Nations Welcome to the United Nations. It's your world.





Government Country Info Symbols Constitution Holidays Map


The Cabinet

The President 
His Excellency Dr. Hage Geingob


Vice President
Hon. Nickey Iyambo

The Prime Minister 
Hon. Dr. Saara Kuugongelwa - Amadhila


                                                                  Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of International                                                          Relations and Cooperation 
                                                         Hon. Netumbo Nandi-Ndaitwah

Minister of Social Eradication & Social Welfare

Hon. Bishop Zephania Kameeta

Urban Development 
Hon. Sophia Shaningwa

Public Enterprises

Hon. Leon Jooste

Land and Reform 
Hon. Utoni Nujoma

Agriculture, Water and Forestry 
Hon. John Mutorwa

Hon. Albert Kawana

National Planning Commission

Hon. Tom Alweendo

Environment and Tourism 
Hon. Pohamba Shifeta


Higher Education, Training and Innovation
Hon. Dr. Itah Kandji-Murangi

Safety and Security 
Hon. General Charles Namoloh 

Hon. Penda ya Ndakolo

Hon. Calle Schlettwein

Education, Arts and Culture 
Hon. Katrina Hanse-Himarwa 

Mines and Energy
Hon. Obed Kandjoze

Works and Transport 
Hon. Alpheus !Naruseb

Industrialization, Trade and SME development 
Hon. Immanuel Ngatjizeko

Fisheries and Marine
Hon. Bernard Esau

Presidential Affairs

Hon. Frans Kapofi 

Gender Equality
and Child Welfare
Hon. Doreen Sioka

Minister of Labour, Industrial Relations & Employment

Hon. Erkki Nghimtina

Health and Social Services 
Hon. Dr. Bernard Haufiku

Home Affairs and Immigration 
Hon. Pendukeni Iivula-Ithana

Minister of Youth and Sport

Hon. Jerry Ekandjo



Minister of Information and Communication Technology

Hon. Tjekero Tweya




Parliament Building

National Assembly

National Council

Government type 


Following it’s independence, the country was divided into 13 regions as determined by the Delimitation Commission and proclaimed in March 1992. These are Omusati, Oshana, Ohangwena and Oshikoto in the north, Kunene in the north west, Kavango and Caprivi in the north east, Erongo, Otjozondojupa, Omaheke, Khomas and Hardap in the central part of the country and Karas in the south.

21 March 1990

Ratified 9 February 1990, effective 12 March 1990

Legal system 
Based on Roman-Dutch law and 1990 constitution

Executive Branch 
Head of State and Government: President Hifikepunye POHAMBA (since 21 March 2005); Prime Minister Nahas ANGULA (since 21 March 2005) Cabinet: Cabinet appointed by the President from among the members of the National Assembly; President elected by popular vote for a five-year term; election last held 15 November 2004 (next to be held November 2009)

Legislative Branch 
Bicameral legislature consists of the National Assembly (72 seats; members are elected by popular vote to serve five-year terms) and the National Council (26 seats; two members are chosen from each regional council to serve six year terms) . The National Assembly is headed by the Speaker . The National Council is headed by a Chairman.

Judicial branch 
Supreme Court judges are appointed by the President on the recommendation of the Judicial Service Commission. The Judiciary is headed by the Chief Justice.

Political parties and leaders 
Congress of Democrats or COD [Mr. Ben ULENGA, President]; Democratic Turnhalle Alliance of Namibia or DTA [Mr. Katuutire KAURA, President]; Monitor Action Group or MAG [Mr. Kosie PRETORIUS]; South West Africa People's Organization or SWAPO-Party [Mr. Sam S. NUJOMA]; United Democratic Front or UDF [Chief Justus GAROEB, President].