United Nations Welcome to the United Nations. It's your world.

Mission Staff

Permanent Representative

Permanent Representative Message


Since its establishment, Ambassador Enele Sosene Sopoaga took charge of the Mission.

In December 2006, the Mission welcomed its second Ambassador, Afelee Falema Pita.

H.E. Mr. Aunese Makoi Simati, Permanent Representative presented his credentials to the UN Secretary-General His Excellency Mr. Ban Ki-moon on 22nd December, 2012.


  Ambassadors Terms of Office




Mr. Aunese Makoi Simati








Mr. Afelee Falema Pita








Mr. Enele Sosene Sopoaga





Current Staff Titles/Terms of Office
Mrs. Sunema Pie Simati First Secretary
Ms. Simalua Enele AOSIS Fellow
Mr. Tokaga Kokea Clerical Officer/Driver

Former Staff Titles/Terms of Office
Mrs. Lita Pita First Secretary; 2006-2012
Mr. Tofiga Tinilau Clerical Officer/Driver; 2006-2012
Mr. Minute Taupo DPR; 2001-2006
Ms. Salilo Enele Second Secretary; 2001-2006
Ms. Seleta Taupo Third Secretary; 2001-2006
Mr. Jeremy Ovia Mission Chauffeur; 2003-2006