United Nations Welcome to the United Nations. It's your world.

Samoa ratifies the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons

Wednesday, 26 September 2018

The Treaty Event on the promotion of the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons (TPNW) was held on Wednesday 26th September 2018 at 5.00pm at the General Assembly Building.

The Prime Minister of Samoa attended the Treaty ceremony where Samoa deposited their instrument of ratification for the Treaty with Vanuatu, Gambia and San Marino.  Seven countries also became signatories to the treaty, namely Antigua and Barbuda, Benin, Brunei, Guinea-Bissau, Myanmar, Seychelles and Timor-Leste. The Treaty Ceremony brought the total number to 67 Signatories and 19 states Parties to the TPNW.  The treaty requires 50 ratifications for it to enter into force

Samoa was amongst the first UN member states to sign the “Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons” (TPNW) last year (2017) at the 72nd UNGA. The TPNW, when it enters into force, will be the first legally binding international agreement to comprehensively prohibit nuclear weapons, with the goal of leading towards their total elimination

To reaffirm our position on nuclear weapon proliferation, the Prime Minister delivered a statement at the High Level event to commemorate and promote the International Day for the Total elimination of nuclear weapons.