United Nations Welcome to the United Nations. It's your world.


Permanent Mission of Tanzania to the United Nations

Mission History: 

About the United Republic of Tanzania

The United Republic of Tanzania was formed out of the union of two sovereign states namely Tanganyika and Zanzibar.

  • Tanganyika became a sovereign state on 9th December, 1961 and became a Republic the following year.
  • Zanzibar received its independence from the United Kingdom on December 19, 1963, as a constitutional monarchy under the sultan. On January 12, 1964, the African majority revolted against the sultan and a new government was formed with the ASP leader, Abeid Karume, as President of Zanzibar and Chairman of the Revolutionary Council. Under the terms of its political union with Tanganyika in April 1964, the Zanzibar Government retained considerable local autonomy.

The two Sovereign Republics formed the United Republic of Tanzania on 26th April, 1964. However, the Government of the United Republic of Tanzania is a unitary republic consisting of the Union Government and the Zanzibar Revolutionary Government.

In mid 1970’s the United Republic of Tanzania introduced a one party system that came to an end in 1992 following the re-introduction of the multi-party system. The first multi-party general election was held in 1995.



Tanzania Mission to the UN

Our primary goal is to represent our country’s position and to promote our objectives within the United Nations bodies. In addition we are also charged with the implementation of Tanzania’s Foreign Policy.

Tanzania’s Foreign Policy manifests itself in active international engagement. Our foreign policy is based on the following principles:

  • Safeguarding the principles of sovereignty, territorial integrity and political independence of the United Republic of Tanzania
  • Defence of freedom, justice, human rights, equality and democracy
  • Promotion of good neighborliness
  • Promotion of African Unity
  • Promotion of deeper economic cooperation with our development partners
  • Support for the practice of the policy of non-alignment and South-South Cooperation
  • Support for the UN in its search for international economic development, peace and security
  • Support for the struggles against colonialism, racism and neo-colonialism
  • Support for the oppressed people in the world
  • Promotion of the respect for the principle of non-interference in the internal affairs of other states



History at UN

Tanzania became a member of the United Nations on 14th December 1961. It should be however noted that Tanganyika was a member of the United Nations from 14 December 1961 and Zanzibar was a Member from 16 December 1963. Following the ratification on 26 April 1964 of Articles of Union between Tanganyika and Zanzibar, the United Republic of Tanganyika and Zanzibar continued as a single member, changing its name to the United Republic of Tanzania on 1 November 1964.

The United Republic of Tanzania participates in the following principal organs of the United Nations:

  • General Assembly
  • Security Council
  • Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC)

The United Republic of Tanzania is currently a member in the following organizations of the United Nations:

  • United Nation Environment Programme (UNEP) 2004-2007
  • United Nations High Commission for Refugee (UNHCR)
  • World Food Programme (WFP)
  • United Nations Educational
  • Scientific, and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) 2001-2005
  • International Telecommunication Union (ITU) 2002-2006
  • World Meteorological Organization (WMO) 2002-2006

The United Republic of Tanzania has been a member in the following United Nations organizations:

  • United Nations Children’s Fund (UNICEF) 1976-1979, 1991-1994
  • United Nations Development Program (UNDP) 1998-2000
  • Global Environment Facility (GEF) 1996
  • International Labour Organization (ILO) 1975-1978, 1987-1990, 1999-2000
  • Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) 1969-1971, 1979-1982,1985-1988, 1991-1993
  • United Nations Human Settlement Programme (UN-HABITAT) 2001-2004
  • World Health Organization (WHO) 1975-1978, 1993-1996
  • International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) 1977-1980, 1983-1995
  • Universal Postal Union (UPU) 1989-1999
  • United Nations Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO) December 2003
  • International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (IBRD) March 2004
  • International Development Association (IDA) May 2004
  • International Finance Corporation (IFC) March 2004
  • International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) 1978-1980



Contact US

The Permanent Mission of the United Republic of Tanzania to the United Nations in New York is located in midtown NYC, a few blocks from the United Nations.
The office is open from 9am to 5pm Monday to Friday. The office is closed on Official Tanzania National Holidays and American National Holidays.
Visa office is open from 9:30 am to 1 pm ONLY

Email: tzrepny@aol.com

307 E 53rd St, New York, NY 10022
Phone: +1 212-697-3612
Fax: +1 212-697-3618