United Nations Welcome to the United Nations. It's your world.


Permanent Mission of the Kingdom of Swaziland to the United Nations

Mission History: 

The Kingdom's membership into the United Nations

The Permanent Mission of Kingdom of Swaziland to the United Nations was established in 1968 following the establishment of the former Department of Foreign Affairs. On September 24, 1968. During the1674th  Plenary Meeting of the 22nd Session of the United Nations General Assembly (UNGA) the Kingdom of Swaziland was accepted into the World Body pursuant to General Assembly Resolution: A/Res/2376 (XXIII) " Admission of Swaziland to membership in the United Nations". The first Head of the delegation to represent the Kingdom of Swaziland at that time  was Prince Makhosini the Rt Honourable Prime Minister and Foreign Minister respectively. The membership of the Kingdom in 1968, gave it the right to be one of the earliest signatory to the United Nations Charter, as  part of the Kingdom's foreign policy is its  commitment to continuously participate and contribute to the success of the United Nations programmes.   The Mission has represented the government as signatories to treaties and convention concerning global policies and issues that will be both beneficial to the Kingdom and the World.  Amongst the latest convention that Swaziland was signatory were the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities which was signed by H.E. Mr. Moses Mathendele Dlamini on 25th September 2007, and The World Health Organization Framework Convention on Tobacco Control Signed by H.E. Mr. Joel M. Nhleko on 29th June, 2004. 

Through the Mission, the country has developed  a good working relationship and close cooperation with the main bodies and organs of the United Nations and its related agencies  and as well as other Regional and International Organizations that are being represented at the United Nations Headquarters in New York and Geneva.  At the moment, one of its priorities is its participation in the successful implementation of the programmes of the Millennium Development Goals (MDG’s).  The Kingdom is also currently contributing to grants and subsidies to more than twenty (20) U.N. Missions and Operations.

To better serve the interest of the Kingdom, the Mission is further accredited to the following States: Commonwealth of Bahamas, Barbados, Cuba, Guyana, Jamaica, Mexico, and Trinidad and Tobago .


The vision of the Mission of Swaziland to the United Nations is to foster and ensure that the Kingdom of Swaziland maintains its rightful presence and position among the community of the Nations of the World.


Within the auspices and context of the United Nations and in line with the Kingdom’s Foreign Policy, the Permanent Mission’s mission is inter alia:
  • To promote the National interest and values of the Country
  • To promote Multilateralism
  • To promote and contribute to International law and the objectives of the United Nations Charter
  • To Uphold and maintain a good image of the Kingdom of Swaziland
  • To facilitate the work of the United Nations and its organs with continental and regional and other bodies such as the African Union (AU) and the Southern African Development Community (SADC) ,Non-Aligned Movement (NAM) and the Group of 77 (G-77)
  • To monitor International Developments and advise Government accordingly
  • To facilitate an co-ordinate the Swazi delegations travel and participation in UN meetings and other activities
  • Cooperate and coordinate with all Swaziland Missions abroad in particular the Geneva and Ethiopia Missions on all matters related to the above.


Correspondence: English

Office Hours: 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday to Friday

National Holiday:  6 September (Independence Day)

Official Currency : Lilangeni (SZL)  
click  to convert currency:  FXConverter - Currency Converter for 164 Currencies

Holidays: (2010)
1st January New Years Day
19th April King's Birthday
25th April National Flag Day
1st May Workers Day
8th May Ascension
22nd July Public Holiday
6th September Somhlolo Day
25th December Christmas Day
26th December Boxing Day
Moveable Holidays Good Friday and Easter Monday
Visas & Immigration: 
For more Visa Inquiry kindly call the Swaziland Embassy, Washington D.C. at (202) 234-5002 
Nationals of the following countries do not require visas:
Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Botswana, Canada, Cyprus, Denmark, Eire, Finland, Gambia, Ghana, Granada, Guyana, Iceland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Kenya, Lesotho, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malawi, Malaysia, Malta, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, Norway, Papua New Guinea, Portugal, Samoa, San Marino, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Sweden, Tanzania, Tonga, Trinidad, Tobago, Uganda, United Kingdom, United States, Zambia and Zimbabwe
408 East 50th Street, New York, N.Y. 10022
Phone: +1 212-371-8775
Phone: +1 212-371-8910
Phone: +1 212-371-8911
Fax: +1 212-754-2755