United Nations Welcome to the United Nations. It's your world.


Mission History: 



The Permanent Mission of Kingdom of Eswatini (Swaziland) to the United Nations was established in 1968, following the establishment of the former Department of Foreign Affairs. The Security Council during its 1450th meeting on September 11, 1968,  adopted Security Council Resolution S/Res/257 (1968), "admission of Swaziland to membership of the United Nations".  The first Head of the delegation at that time was Prince Makhosini the Rt Honourable Prime Minister and Foreign Minister respectively. The membership of the Kingdom of Eswatini (Swaziland) in 1968, gave it the right to be one of the earliest signatories to the United Nations Charter, as part of the Kingdom's foreign policy is its commitment to continuously participate and contribute to the success of the United Nations programmes.   The Mission has represented the government as signatories to treaties and convention concerning global policies and issues that will be both beneficial to the Kingdom and the World. Among them was The World Health Organization Framework Convention on Tobacco Control which was signed on June 29, 2004 by H.E. Ambassador Joel Musa Nheleko  the former Permanent Representative of the Kingdom of Eswatini (Swaziland) to the United Nations, and the  Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities which was signed by H.E. Mr. Moses Mathendele Dlamini on 25th September 2007.  Through the Mission, the country has developed a good working relationship and close cooperation with the main bodies and organs of the United Nations and its related agencies,  and as well as other Regional and International Organizations that are being represented at the United Nations Headquarters in New York and Geneva.  At the moment, one of its priorities is its participation in the successful implementation of the programmes of the Millennium Development Goals (MDG’s).  The Kingdom is also currently contributing to grants and subsidies to more than twenty (20) U.N. Missions and Operations. 

To better serve the interest of the Kingdom, the Mission is accredited to the following States: Commonwealth of Bahamas, Barbados, Cuba, Guyana, Jamaica, Mexico, and Trinidad and Tobago, Estonia, Mongolia, Latvia,Tajikistan, Croatia, Nepal.

On September 17, 2019 - The Kingdom of Eswatini and the Republic of Nicaragua had established a formal diplomatic relations, in New York City  The Government of the Kingdom of Eswatini was represented by H. E. Ambassador Melusi Martin Masuku, whilst the Government of the Republic of Nicaragua was represented by H. E. Mr. Sidharta Francisco Marin Arauz.






Address: 408 East 50th Street New York, NY 10022

Temporary Phone Numbers: +1 (646) 218-9960

Fax No: +1 (212) 754-2755

Email Address: eswatini@un.int

Correspondence: English

Office Hours: 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday to Friday

National Holiday:  6 September (Independence Day)

List of Official Holidays 

Official Currency: Lilangeni (SZL)  

Currency Converter:  FXConverter - Currency Converter for 164 Currencies

For Visas & Immigration Information Please Call or Contact: 

The Embassy of he Kingdom of Eswatini (Swaziland)
Address: 1712 New Hampshire Avenue, NW, Washington DC 20009
 Phone: (202) 234-5002, Fax: (202) 234-8254
Nationals of the following countries do not require visas:
Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Botswana, Canada, Cyprus, Denmark, Finland, Gambia, Ghana, Granada, Guyana, Iceland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Kenya, Lesotho, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malawi, Malaysia, Malta, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, Norway, Papua New Guinea, Portugal, Samoa, San Marino, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Sweden, Tanzania, Tonga, Trinidad, Tobago, Uganda, United Kingdom, United States, Zambia and Zimbabwe.