Please note that all PDF documents are marked as such and will open in a new browser window.

Country Facts



Suriname is located on the north-east coast of South America between French Guiana and Guyana.

 Area:       163,194 sq. km. (63,037 sq. mi.)
Climate :  Tropical

Capital City: Paramaribo

Head of State: H. E. President Desiré Delano BOUTERSE

Independence Day: November 25, 1975.

: Surinamese.
Population (2004 census): 492,829.
Annual growth rate (2004): 1.30%.
Ethnic groups (2004 census): Hindustani (East Indian) 27%, Creole 18%, Javanese 15%, Maroon 15%, mixed 12.5%, Amerindians 3.7%, Chinese 1.8%.
Religions: Hindu, Muslim, Roman Catholic, Dutch Reformed, Moravian, several other Christian denominations, Jewish, Baha'i.
Languages: Dutch (official), English (widely spoken in Paramaribo), Sranan Tongo (Creole language), Hindustani, Javanese.


Currency:   Suriname Guilder was replaced by the Surinamese dollar (SRD) in January 2004

Type: Constitutional democracy.
Constitution: September 30, 1987.
Branches: Executive--President, Vice President, Council of Ministers. Legislative--elected 51-member National Assembly made up of representatives of political parties. Judicial--Court of Justice.