Please note that all PDF documents are marked as such and will open in a new browser window.

Country Facts


Mali owes its name to the prestigious Empire of Mali, which, according to historians, was the most powerful state of Africa, south Sahara, in the middle ages. Mali became part of the French West Africa by the end of the 19th century. Prior to independence from France in 1960, Mali was known as the French Sudan (soudan Francais).


478,734 mi² (1,241,000km²), Mali is the largest country in West Africa. It's bordered by Algeria to the North, Senegal to the west, Mauritania to the northwest, Niger to the east, Burkina Faso and Cote d'Ivoire to the south.


Mali has over 10 million inhabitants and its is divided into eight administrative regions: Kayes, kouliloro, Sikasso, Segou, Mopti, Tombouctou, Gao, Kidal and the District of Bamako, the capital.

Key Country Data

Region                             Africa
Location                          Western Africa
Country name                The Republic of Mali
Capital                              Bamako
Area Total                       1,240,000km2
Population                      10,441,300 June 2003
Languages                     French (official), Bambara
Currency                         CFA Francs ( $1 = 6oo CFA Francs)
Average temperature  27 degree Celsius
Time zone                       GMT
Voltage requirement    220 Volts
Country phone code     223