Please note that all PDF documents are marked as such and will open in a new browser window.
UN Logo 60 Year Anniversary



Country name: Angola

Official name: Republic of Angola

President: Mr. José Eduardo Dos Santos

Government type: Multiparty democracy with a semi-executive presidency composed of the following State bodies: The President of the Republic, the National Assembly, the Government and the Courts.

Party of Government: MPLA

Main opposition party: UNITA

Capital: Luanda

Political/Administrative divisions: 18 Provinces divided in 163 municipalities; Bengo, Benguela, Bié, Cabinda, Cuando Cubango, Cuanza Norte, Cuanza Sul, Cunene, Huambo, Huila, Luanda, Lunda Norte, Lunda Sul, Malanje, Moxico, , Uige, Zaire

Independence: 11 November 1975 (from Portugal)

National holiday: Independence Day, 11 November (1975)
Constitution: 11 November 1975; revised 7 January 1978, 11 August 1980, 6 March 1991, and 26 August 1992

Legal system: based on Portuguese civil law system and customary law; recently modified to accommodate political pluralism and increased use of free markets

Chief of State: President Jose Eduardo Dos Santos (since 21 September 1979).

Prime Minister: António Paulo Kassoma

Cabinet: Council of Ministers appointed by the president

Judicial branch: Supreme Court or Tribunal of Relation, judges of the Supreme
Court are appointed by the president.