Please note that all PDF documents are marked as such and will open in a new browser window.
un_ani01.gif spc.gif

About Mission

The Permanent Mission of Bangladesh to the United Nations in New York covers a wide range of the objectives of the Bangladesh Ministry of Foreign Affairs - from the peaceful settlement of disputes, promotion of human rights, protection of environment, sustainable development and so on.

The Permanent Mission, with support from other government ministries, represents Bangladesh in every negotiation that takes place at the United Nations in New York, ensuring that Bangladesh's interests and views are taken into account by UN bodies and the other member states. Hours are long and negotiations can be tough and intricate. But playing a key part in achieving a successful outcome can be very rewarding.

Bangladesh, as a UN member state, plays a key role, providing information from the Bangladesh's diplomatic network, negotiating, and lobbying for appropriate actions and resolutions. The Ambassador and his team are engaged in a constant round of meetings, promoting Bangladesh's interests and persuading others to accept the Bangladesh's stance.

At the same time Permanent Mission is trying to improve the way the UN works, strengthen the UN's capacity to deal with economic and social issues, peacekeeping and conflict prevention. Bangladesh has been at the forefront of efforts to develop practical proposals for reform. Permanent Mission is working with the Secretary-General to promote these reforms and to ensure that the UN is a leaner and more effective organisation, to meet the challenges of the twenty-first century.

Composition of the Mission as of November 2013

Diplomatic Wing

Dr. A.K. Abdul Momen
Ambassador and Permanent Representative


Mr. Md. Mustafizur Rahman                                                     Deputy Permanent Representative                                                 E-mail:


Dr. Sadia Faizunnesa


Mr. Andalib Elias
Counsellor                                                                                          E-mail:       


Ms. Samia Anjum                                                                   Counsellor                                                                      


Mr. Md. Faruk Hossain                                                                  First Secretary                                                                            E-mail: 


Mr. Jamal Uddin Ahmed                                                              First Secretary & HOC                                                                       E-mail:



Economic Wing


Barun Dev Mitra
Economic Minister


Defence Wing


Brig General AKM Akhtaruzzaman                                           NDC,PSC
Defense Adviser                                                                        E-mail:                                           


Press Wing


Mr. Mamun-or- Rashid
First Secretary (Press)