Please note that all PDF documents are marked as such and will open in a new browser window.

Government Information

Government Country Info Symbols Constitution Holidays Map

The Cabinet

The President
His Excellency Hifikepunye Pohamba

Inaugural Adress 2005
Inaugural Adress 2010


The Prime Minister
Right Hon.
Dr. Hage Geingob
Deputy Prime Minister
Hon. Marco Hausiku

Veterans Affairs
Hon. Nickey Iyambo

Regional and Local Government,
Housing and Rural Development

Hon. Maj-Gen(rtd) Charles Namoloh
Foreign Affairs
Hon. Netumbo Nandi-Ndaitwah
Land and Resettlement 
Hon. Alpheus G.!Naruseb
Agriculture, Water and Forestry
Hon. John Mutorwa

Hon. Utoni Nujoma

Information and Communication Technology
Hon. Joel Kaapanda
Environment and Tourism
Hon. Uahekua Herunga

Dr. David Namwandi

Safety and Security
Hon. Immanuel Ngatjizeko 
Hon. Nahas Angula

Hon. Saara
Kuugongelwa - Amadhila
Youth, National Service,
Sport and Culture

Hon. Jerry Ekandjo 
Mines and Energy
Hon. Isak Katali
Works and Transport
Hon. Erkki Nghimtina
Trade and Industry 
Hon. Calle Schlettwein
Fisheries and Marine

Hon. Bernard Esau

Presidential Affairs and Attorney General 
Hon. Dr. Albert Kawana
Gender Equality
and Child Welfare

Hon. Rosalia Nghidinwa
Labour and Social Welfare
Hon. Doreen Sioka

Health and Social Service
Hon. Dr. Richard Kamwi
Home Affairs and Immigration
Hon. Pendukeni Iivula-Ithana


Parliament Building

National Assembly

National Council

Government type


Following it’s independence, the country was divided into 13 regions as determined by the Delimitation Commission and proclaimed in March 1992. These are Omusati, Oshana, Ohangwena and Oshikoto in the north, Kunene in the north west, Kavango and Caprivi in the north east, Erongo, Otjozondojupa, Omaheke, Khomas and Hardap in the central part of the country and Karas in the south.

21 March 1990

Ratified 9 February 1990, effective 12 March 1990

Legal system
Based on Roman-Dutch law and 1990 constitution

Executive Branch
Head of State and Government: President Hifikepunye POHAMBA (since 21 March 2005); Prime Minister Nahas ANGULA (since 21 March 2005) Cabinet: Cabinet appointed by the President from among the members of the National Assembly; President elected by popular vote for a five-year term; election last held 15 November 2004 (next to be held November 2009)

Legislative Branch
Bicameral legislature consists of the National Assembly (72 seats; members are elected by popular vote to serve five-year terms) and the National Council (26 seats; two members are chosen from each regional council to serve six year terms) . The National Assembly is headed by the Speaker . The National Council is headed by a Chairman.

Judicial branch
Supreme Court judges are appointed by the President on the recommendation of the Judicial Service Commission. The Judiciary is headed by the Chief Justice.

Political parties and leaders
Congress of Democrats or COD [Mr. Ben ULENGA, President]; Democratic Turnhalle Alliance of Namibia or DTA [Mr. Katuutire KAURA, President]; Monitor Action Group or MAG [Mr. Kosie PRETORIUS]; South West Africa People's Organization or SWAPO-Party [Mr. Sam S. NUJOMA]; United Democratic Front or UDF [Chief Justus GAROEB, President].

Government Country Info Symbols Constitution Holidays Map