crest_s.gif (7100 bytes)

1999 - 2000

sc.gif (18134 bytes)


SC2.gif (130191 bytes)Under  the United Nations Charter,   the Members of the United Nations  have  conferred  on  the  Security   Council  the  primary responsibility for the maintenance of international peace and security.

On 1 January 1999, Malaysia became a member of the United Nations Security Council. It served for a two-year term until the end of December 2000.

The Security Council is composed of fifteen members (five permanent members and ten non-permanent members elected by the General-Assembly for a two-year term). The members in the year 2000 were: Argentina, Bangladesh, Canada, China, France, Jamaica, Malaysia, Mali, Namibia, Netherlands, Russian Federation, Tunisia, Ukraine, United Kindgom of Great-Britain and Northern Ireland, and United States of America.

The presidency of the Security Council rotates monthly among Council Members according to the English alphabetical listing of the Member States' names. Malaysia exercised its presidency in August 2000, having served as president for the month of July 1999.

Aller.gif (71 bytes)Delegation of Malaysia to the Security Council
Aller.gif (71 bytes)Statements made at the Security Council

Back to Homepage